MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#35
Brent Suter
ERA W-L K
3.29 3-2 60
Team: MilwaukeeHt / Wt: 6-2 / 205
Position: SPBorn: 8/29/1989 Birthplace: Chicago, Illinois
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 31st Round by Brewers (2012)


Latest News
Sep. 23 2:07 PM PT3:07 PM MT4:07 PM CT5:07 PM ET17:07 ET21:07 GMT5:07 2:07 PM MST4:07 PM EST4:37 PM VEN1:07 UAE (+1)4:07 PM CT-Brent Suter allowed one run on six hits in 5.1 innings as the Milwaukee Brewers defeated the Chicago Cubs 4-3 on Saturday. Suter struck out two, ending the game with a 3.29 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Suter has a 1.56 ERA in five appearances - four starts - since returning on Sept. 3 from a two-plus week stint on the disabled list with a strained rotator cuff.
Sep. 19 6:54 AM PT7:54 AM MT8:54 AM CT9:54 AM ET9:54 ET13:54 GMT21:54 6:54 AM MST8:54 AM EST9:24 AM VEN17:54 UAE8:54 AM CT-Brent Suter improved to 3-2, allowing five hits over 5.0 scoreless innings, as the Milwaukee Brewers defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 3-0 on Monday. Suter struck out four, ending the game with a 3.41 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: The former Harvard pitcher hadn't thrown more than three innings in a game since coming off the disabled list Sept. 1. ''I was hoping to get through five, given that the last couple I was only able to go three,'' Suter said. ''Luckily I was able to do that.''
Sep. 12 8:06 PM PT9:06 PM MT10:06 PM CT11:06 PM ET23:06 ET3:06 GMT11:06 8:06 PM MST10:06 PM EST10:36 PM VEN7:06 UAE (+1)10:06 PM CT-Brent Suter allowed two runs on three hits and one walk in 3.0 innings as the Milwaukee Brewers defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 5-2 on Tuesday. Suter struck out three, ending the game with a 3.66 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: It was Suter' third outing and second start of three innings since coming off the disabled list Sept. 1 with a left rotator cuff strain. He went three in his previous start Sept. 3 and pitched an inning of scoreless relief Wednesday.
Sep. 6 1:13 PM PT2:13 PM MT3:13 PM CT4:13 PM ET16:13 ET20:13 GMT4:13 1:13 PM MST3:13 PM EST3:43 PM VEN0:13 UAE (+1)3:13 PM CT-Brent Suter allowed two hits and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Milwaukee Brewers lost to the Cincinnati Reds 7-1 on Wednesday. Suter did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.55 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 3 3:11 PM PT4:11 PM MT5:11 PM CT6:11 PM ET18:11 ET22:11 GMT6:11 3:11 PM MST5:11 PM EST5:41 PM VEN2:11 UAE (+1)5:11 PM CT-Brent Suter allowed two hits and one walk without giving up a run in 3.0 innings as the Milwaukee Brewers defeated the Washington Nationals 7-2 on Sunday. Suter struck out two, ending the game with a 3.61 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Suter's pitch count was limited in his first start with the Brewers in three weeks. The rookie left-hander was just coming back from a strained rotator cuff. Despite the short stint, this was an encouraging performance after he was tagged for 13 runs in 14 1/3 innings over his last three starts prior to landing on the DL.
Aug. 13 9:46 AM PT10:46 AM MT11:46 AM CT12:46 PM ET12:46 ET16:46 GMT0:46 9:46 AM MST11:46 AM EST12:16 PM VEN20:46 UAE11:46 AM CT-Suter has been placed on the disabled list with a left rotator cuff strain.
Analysis: It's unclear how long this injury, suffered in his outing Saturday night, will keep Suter sidelined. He's been struggling lately with an 8.16 ERA in his last three outings.
Aug. 12 8:56 PM PT9:56 PM MT10:56 PM CT11:56 PM ET23:56 ET3:56 GMT11:56 8:56 PM MST10:56 PM EST11:26 PM VEN7:56 UAE (+1)10:56 PM CT-Brent Suter allowed five runs on four hits and four walks in 5.0 innings as the Milwaukee Brewers defeated the Cincinnati Reds 6-5 on Saturday. Suter struck out three, ending the game with a 3.79 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Suter is 0-1 with an 8.16 ERA in his last three starts. He's allowed five homers in 14 1/3 innings over that span.
Aug. 8 11:32 PM PT12:32 AM MT1:32 AM CT2:32 AM ET2:32 ET6:32 GMT14:32 11:32 PM MST1:32 AM EST2:02 AM VEN10:32 UAE1:32 AM CT-Brent Suter allowed three runs on five hits and two walks in 4.0 innings as the Milwaukee Brewers lost to the Minnesota Twins 5-4 on Monday. Suter struck out two, ending the game with a 3.31 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: After compiling a 2-0 record with a 1.50 ERA through five starts in July, Suter has opened August by being tagged for eight runs and 13 hits in 9 1/3 innings. The soft-tossing lefty will attempt to rediscover his prior form when he faces last-place Cincinnati at home on Saturday.
Aug. 2 8:53 PM PT9:53 PM MT10:53 PM CT11:53 PM ET23:53 ET3:53 GMT11:53 8:53 PM MST10:53 PM EST11:23 PM VEN7:53 UAE (+1)10:53 PM CT-Brent Suter fell to 2-2, allowing five runs on eight hits and one walk in 5.1 innings, as the Milwaukee Brewers lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 5-4 on Wednesday. Suter struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.04 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Suter allowed a career-high five runs after posting a 1.50 ERA in his previous five starts.
July 28 8:15 PM PT9:15 PM MT10:15 PM CT11:15 PM ET23:15 ET3:15 GMT11:15 8:15 PM MST10:15 PM EST10:45 PM VEN7:15 UAE (+1)10:15 PM CT-Suter improved to 2-1, allowing four hits and one walk over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Milwaukee Brewers defeated the Chicago Cubs 2-1 on Friday. Suter struck out five, ending the game with a 2.40 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Since joining the rotation July 3, Suter is 2-0 with a 1.50 ERA in five starts.
July 23 9:35 PM PT10:35 PM MT11:35 PM CT12:35 AM ET0:35 ET4:35 GMT12:35 9:35 PM MST11:35 PM EST12:05 AM VEN8:35 UAE11:35 PM CT-Brent Suter allowed one run on five hits in 6.0 innings as the Milwaukee Brewers defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 9-8 on Saturday. Suter struck out five, ending the game with a 2.84 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Suter threw just 85 pitches in six innings, but Counsell replaced him with Oliver Drake, who gave up four runs on four hits, including Cesar Hernandez's three-run homer.
July 17 8:09 PM PT9:09 PM MT10:09 PM CT11:09 PM ET23:09 ET3:09 GMT11:09 8:09 PM MST10:09 PM EST10:39 PM VEN7:09 UAE (+1)10:09 PM CT-Brent Suter allowed two runs on seven hits and two walks in 4.2 innings as the Milwaukee Brewers lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 4-2 on Monday. Suter struck out two, ending the game with a 3.09 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Suter was effective over the first four innings and held a 2-0 lead before Pittsburgh finally broke through and tied it in the fifth. The left-hander is 1-0 with a 2.12 ERA in three starts since joining the rotation.
July 8 1:20 PM PT2:20 PM MT3:20 PM CT4:20 PM ET16:20 ET20:20 GMT4:20 1:20 PM MST3:20 PM EST3:50 PM VEN0:20 UAE (+1)3:20 PM CT-Brent Suter allowed two runs on five hits and one walk in 6.1 innings as the Milwaukee Brewers lost to the New York Yankees 5-3 on Saturday. Suter struck out five, ending the game with a 2.96 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Suter didn't allow a hit until there were two outs in the fifth. The left-hander made his second straight start in place of an injured Chase Anderson, and Suter's allowed just two earned runs with 13 Ks over 12 1/3 innings. Manager Craig Counsell said Suter will remain in the rotation after the All-Star break.
July 3 3:04 PM PT4:04 PM MT5:04 PM CT6:04 PM ET18:04 ET22:04 GMT6:04 3:04 PM MST5:04 PM EST5:34 PM VEN2:04 UAE (+1)5:04 PM CT-Brent Suter improved to 1-1, allowing one run - zero earned - on four hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Milwaukee Brewers defeated the Baltimore Orioles 8-1 on Monday. Suter struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: The 27-year-old left-hander made his second start this season, pitching in place of Chase Anderson, on the disabled list because of a left oblique strain. Milwaukee manager Craig Counsell said Suter earned another start and will pitch this weekend when the Brewers play the New York Yankees.
June 27 8:30 PM PT9:30 PM MT10:30 PM CT11:30 PM ET23:30 ET3:30 GMT11:30 8:30 PM MST10:30 PM EST11:00 PM VEN7:30 UAE (+1)10:30 PM CT-Brent Suter did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Milwaukee Brewers lost to the Cincinnati Reds 8-6 on Tuesday. Suter struck out two, ending the game with a 4.20 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
June 23 8:55 PM PT9:55 PM MT10:55 PM CT11:55 PM ET23:55 ET3:55 GMT11:55 8:55 PM MST10:55 PM EST11:25 PM VEN7:55 UAE (+1)10:55 PM CT-Brent Suter allowed one run - zero earned - on two hits and one walk in 2.0 innings as the Milwaukee Brewers lost to the Atlanta Braves 5-4 on Friday. Suter struck out three, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.57 WHIP on the season.
June 13 2:58 PM PT3:58 PM MT4:58 PM CT5:58 PM ET17:58 ET21:58 GMT5:58 2:58 PM MST4:58 PM EST5:28 PM VEN1:58 UAE (+1)4:58 PM CT-Brent Suter fell to 0-1, allowing three runs on five hits and one walk in 4.2 innings, as the Milwaukee Brewers lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 6-0 on Tuesday in Game 1 of a doubleheader. Suter struck out two, ending the game with a 5.25 ERA and 1.58 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Milwaukee recalled Brandon Woodruff from Triple-A Colorado Springs to start the first game, but Woodruff was scratched less than 20 minutes before first pitch with right hamstring tightness and replaced by Suter.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2016 Mil 2 2 0 - 0 14 2 0 21.2 25 8 8 3 5 0 15 1.38 3.32
2017 Mil 3 2 0 - 0 21 13 0 76.2 76 30 28 7 21 2 60 1.27 3.29
Career 5 4 0 - 0 35 15 0 98.1 101 38 36 10 26 2 75 1.29 3.29

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2016 Mil 14 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2017 Mil 22 16 1 3 0 0 0 1 0 6 0 0 .188 .235 .188
Career 36 18 1 3 0 0 0 1 0 7 0 0 .167 .211 .167


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 12 87 84 85.5 .99
Curveball 76 76 71 73.2 6.29
Slider 138 78 71 74.9 11.41
Changeup 142 83 77 80.2 11.75
Cut Fastball 841 89 81 85.9 69.56

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.